The Notebook Review forums were hosted by TechTarget, who shut down them down on January 31, 2022. This static read-only archive was pulled by NBR forum users between January 20 and January 31, 2022, in an effort to make sure that the valuable technical information that had been posted on the forums is preserved. For current discussions, many NBR forum users moved over to NotebookTalk.net after the shutdown.

USB3 e-dock with M6500 that doesn't have USB3

Discussion in 'Dell Latitude, Vostro, and Precision' started by tgz, Feb 17, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tgz

tgz Notebook Enthusiast

Reputations:
    Hello, I've been running M6300's for 7 or 8 years [buying used ones] and am looking at migrating to the M6500. Just started researching them a few days ago. I also run D630's [started with a d505] and have perused this site many times for info, wonderful resource.

I read some of the early M6500's did not have the USB3 option. Looking over the e-docks [I'm used to the old d-docks with my other machines] I see there are several iterations, at least 2 of which have the pair of usb3 ports. So my question is, will these dock ports transmit usb3 data rates to an M6500 without usb3? Wondering if they left the capability within the dock/laptop connection.

Wanted to know in case I see a great deal on one that doesn't have usb3, if I can still reach it by using a dock.
    thank you

2. Aaron44126

Aaron44126 Notebook Prophet

Reputations:
    Doubt it. Back then, USB3 was a separate chip on the motherboard, not integrated into the chipset. USB3 ports on the dock would also need USB3 support in the system. The e-port docks do not have any "processing" inside, they are just port replicators that hook up to other ports not exposed on the system chassis.

You could use an ExpressCard to add USB3 support. (Wouldn't apply to ports on the dock, though.)

3. tgz

tgz Notebook Enthusiast

Reputations: