The Notebook Review forums were hosted by TechTarget, who shut down them down on January 31, 2022. This static read-only archive was pulled by NBR forum users between January 20 and January 31, 2022, in an effort to make sure that the valuable technical information that had been posted on the forums is preserved. For current discussions, many NBR forum users moved over to NotebookTalk.net after the shutdown.

Precision 7710 Owner's Thread

Discussion in 'Dell Latitude, Vostro, and Precision' started by muzicman82, Mar 30, 2016.

1. muzicman82

muzicman82 Notebook Consultant

Reputations:
    qigrisu likes this.
  2. muzicman82

Reputations:
    I'll go first. I finally replaced my Precision M6500. It'll make a great 2nd system as it still runs great. It's held up pretty well over the past 4-5 years.

Why do I need this beast? I'm a Pro AV engineer but I pretty much do everything: CAD, video editing, audio mixing/editing, graphic design, photography, web programming, Crestron programming, etc. I use AutoCAD and Adobe Creative Cloud (all programs) nearly every day. I don't do much gaming anymore (no time).

The short version of my build is:
    • Intel Core i7-6820HQ w/ Smart Card & Thunderbolt 3
    • 17.3" UltraSharp UHD LCD
    • 16GB 2133 DDR4 Memory
    • NVIDIA Quadro M3000M w/ 4GB DDR5
    • Intel Dual Band Wireless 8260 w/ Bluetooth
    • Backlit Keyboard
    • 6 Cell Lithium Polymer Battery
    • Samsung 950 PRO NVMe M.2 SSD
    • Samsung 840 PRO SSD
    • Microsoft Windows 10
    First Impressions
    • I've had this system for a week now and so far, I'm really liking it. It feels well built.
    • The first thing I did when I got this was take the included 1TB HDD out and clean install Windows 10 on the Samsung 950 PRO. NVMe is SO FAST.